Peep World review

Peep World

Release Date: March 25, 2011

Director: Barry W. Blaustein

Stars: Michael C. Hall, Sarah Silverman, Rainn Wilson

Runtime: 79 min

Tagline: All your family’s dirty little secrets. Now a #1 Best Seller.

The real attraction of this film for me was that it had a pretty sweet cast, including Michael C. Hall, Rainn Wilson and Sarah Silverman. I caught this on TV and didn’t know a thing about it before I watched it, so I really had no expectations. Let’s just say, it’s bad even if you don’t have any expectations at all; there’s really not any impressive material here.

If you look it as as a family drama, maybe you’ll like it. As I look back at this I can only remember one laugh, so to me that’s hardly a successful comedy by any means. It’s not even worth the 80 minutes of my time. The acting talents don’t bring anything great to the table and the plot is quite silly (a family becomes outraged after a sibling writes a bestselling book about their very embarrassing and scandalous personal family life).

I wouldn’t watch it again and I couldn’t recommend it to anyone I like. It’s about as predictable as the odds of you predicting you’re going to wake up the next day. It isn’t ground breaking at all, the characters aren’t really likeable and the only funny gag is a guy not being able to get his boner down (that I can remember). It doesn’t work as a vulgar comedy nor as a family drama (which it felt like rather than a comedy), and doesn’t bring anything special to either genre. Peep World is a failed comedy with nice talents like Sarah Silverman, Michael C. Hall, Rainn Wilson, Kate Mara and Judy Greer.
Unfortunately, C. Hall couldn’t show a comedic side with this poorly written screenplay. If you want to see it for him, just watch Gamer – that isn’t too bad.

Peep World is a film that doesn’t have to be seen, it’ll be disappointing if you have expectations. Even Lewis Black’s narration of the feature couldn’t help this film. If memory serves me correctly, it was a real waste of time, even for a film that was eighty minutes.

20/100

– Daniel Prinn

This entry was posted in Reviews N - Z and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peep World review

  1. Wow…better not “peep” at this film, eh? (Bad pun…I know.)

Leave a Reply

