Celebrity Birthdays: October 8 – 14

Chevy Chase (October 8)

Happy 69th birthday to Chevy Chase who is probably best known for his role in National Lampoon’s Vacation films as Clark Griswold. He’s also well known for his improvisational role of Ty Webb in 1980’s Caddyshack. Nowadays he appears on the NBC comedy TV Series Community, as the racist, clueless, offensive, rich and often hilarious Pierce Hawthorne. What’s your favourite Chevy Chase movie or TV role, and favourite movie featuring him? My favourite roles portrayed by Chase are Ty Webb in Caddyshack, and his role as Pierce Hawthorne, on Community,  is a close second. My favourite films featuring Chase are 1) Caddyshack as Ty Webb and; 2) Hot Tub Time Machine as the hysterical Repairman and;  3) Snow Day as Tom Brandston, the weatherman.Though, I’ve only seen four of his films. The fourth is Zoom, but frankly, who truly enjoys that one? I’d count one of the Vacation films, but I can’t remember which one I’d seen…

Matt Damon (October 8)

Happy 42nd birthday to Matt Damon, star of The Bourne trilogy, Good Will Hunting, and The Departed. I won’t go into what my favourite Damon flicks are because I haven’t seen a lot of his work to judge. But what I have seen him in, I can say that he evidently has great talent.

Sigourney Weaver (October 8)

Happy 63rd birthday to Mrs. Sigourney Weaver. Weaver is sort of just an extraordinary Queen of Science Fiction/Horror. She is the star of the Alien series as Ellen Ripley. Unfortunately, I have not seen those films at all yet. She has also been in Ghostbusters and Avatar. I’ve only seen three of her films that she has a primary role in, and they are ranked: 1) Holes as Warden Walker; 2) Avatar as Grace and; 3) Ghostbusters as Dana Barrett.

David Morse (October 11)

Happy 59th birthday to David Morse, who is best known for The Green Mile, Contact, The Hurt Locker and The Rock. He’s a great and diverse actor that can be creepy in films like Disturbia and touching in films like The Green Mile. I really love the work that I have seen him in. He has been nominated for two Primetime Emmys for his work in the TV miniseries John Adams and House. My favourite films featuring him are: 1) The Green Mile, as Brutus ‘Brutal’ Howell; 2) Disturbia as the creepy Mr. Turner and; 3) The Hurt Locker as Colonel Reed (who got about two minutes of screen time).

Hugh Jackman (October 12)

Happy 44th birthday to Hugh Jackman, an Australian born actor who is best known for his role in The Prestige and as Logan/Wolverine in the X-Men series. My favourite role is him in The Prestige. That’s really the only stuff I’ve seen him in.

Sacha Baron Cohen (October 13)

Happy 41st birthday to Sacha Baron Cohen, who is the creator of great characters such as Borat, Ali G, most recently Aladeen from The Dictator, and then there was Bruno. He is often very hysterical, and has even gotten an Oscar nomination for Best Writing, Adapted Screenplay for Borat. My favourite Cohen character is definitely, without any question, Borat. He’s freaking hysterical. My favourite films featuring Cohen are: 1) Borat, where he played the titular character and; 2) Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby, where he played Jean Girard and; 3) Madagascar where he voices the hilarious Madagascar lemur, King Julien.

Other Birthdays: Oct. 10, Aimee Teegarden (23). Oct. 11, Michelle Trachtenberg (27). Oct. 11, Joan Cusack (50). Oct. 12, Josh Hutcherson (20). Oct. 14, Roger Moore (85). Oct. 14, Mia Wasikowska (23).

So, what do you guys think of one of my newest features? And who is your favourite actor/actress on this talented list?

My reviews of films they have starred in: 

Sigourney Weaver: Holes (2003)

David Morse: Disturbia  (2007)

Joan Cusack: The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012)

Josh Hutcherson: The Hunger Games (2012)

This entry was posted in Celebrity Birthdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

