Super 8 (2011)

Super 8Super 8

Release Date: June 10, 2011

Director: J.J. Abrams

Stars: Elle Fanning, AJ Michalka, Joel Courtney

Runtime: 112 min

Tagline: It arrives.

Plot: During the summer of 1979, a group of friends witness a train crash and investigate subsequent unexplained events in their small town.

Quick Thoughts review.

– A problem with this one is the expectations of it. A lot of people were expecting pure gold, and the results are a tad sub par. What you get isn’t quite pure gold, but it is somewhere between a fine silver and a fine silver with some dashes of gold. I wasn’t one of those people who had anticipated this, so my low expectations were exceeded

– The finale really isn’t incredible, it’s only pretty good

– The young stars (particularly Joel Courtney and Elle Fanning) and old stars do quite well

– I only liked a select few characters, like Charles, even though he was pretty irritating

– It’s well-cast like The Goonies, but the unlike that film, most the characters aren’t anything special

– There are great homages to 1980s Steven Spielberg – it has elements of E.T.: The Extra Terrestrial and The Goonies. There’s a great sense of 80s nostalgia for the 2011 season. The atmosphere is quite great. There’s fine elements of science fiction and a bit of horror

– There are spikes of poignancy within the character development

– The cinematography is fine

– It’s a pretty awesome science fiction mystery that is quite memorable

75/100

This entry was posted in 2010s, Reviews N - Z and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Super 8 (2011)

  1. CMrok93 says:

    Good review Daniel. One of my favorite movies of 2011 and shows that Abrams has all the skills and thrills to make it as the next eye of Star Wars.

  2. Great short review.

    Sometimes I think Abrams gets carried away; specifically the train derailing scene.

  3. Dave says:

    your reviews are starting to make me mad lol. One of the best movies of 2011. Totally brings back memories of the goonies or E.T., classic Spielberg stuff. You must hate J.J. Abrams lol, the man is a God among men

    • Daniel Prinn says:

      LOL, I wrote this and Cloverfield back in November. Aren’t you hard to please, hahah! Yeah, that’s why I like it mostly! I have to re-watch E.T.

      Do I like his stuff? Sure, I just don’t love all of it. I never watched Lost, but I did enjoy TV’s Alcatraz. And I enjoy Mission: Impossible 3. And Cloverfield was a cool idea. All in all, I admire him, but I’m just not a major fan-boy of his. I see the potential of me being one (I still have to watch Star Trek, ahhhh). And speaking of Cloverfield, would you rather me give Cloverfield a second shot or review The Cold of Light of Day?

      • Dave says:

        Cloverfield, haha. And also, watch LOST, you’re missing out. For seriously

      • Daniel Prinn says:

        Good deal. I secretly did not want to watch TCOLOD lol. Doesn’t sound completely intriguing. Okay, I’m interested in what all the mystery is really… Might put it on my summer or beginning march break (U.S. spring break) watching list.

  4. This was one of my faves of 2011 as well. I really liked it and love surprising people who haven’t seen it by inviting them over to enjoy it. the mix of modernism along with the tribute to beloved films of the 80’s is perfect. the kids, the scifi, the adventure. It all worked for me

Leave a Reply

