Zombies Will (Probably) Devour Stallone, Elderly in a Crime Comedy, and the Rest of the Competition

The new releases

Bullet to the Head

Bullet to the Head

Stand Up Guys

Stand Up Guys

Warm Bodies

Warm Bodies

 

 

 

 

This weekend, there are three new releases coming along: the zombie-love story, Warm Bodies; Stallone’s new vehicle, Bullet to the Head; and a limited release of Stand Up Guys, where Alan Arkin, Al Pacino and Christopher Walken team up for a crime comedy.

Sylvester Stallone is breaking off from his The Expendables series for a solo outing with Bullet to the Head. Here, Stallone plays a hit man situated in New Orleans. The story follows Stallone and a Washington D.C. detective who see their respective partners die, and they then form an alliance in order to bring down their common enemy. Stallone is a fairly popular action hero whose popularity has grown with his start of a new ensemble action series, The Expendables. Stallone’s average opening weekend earning is $13.079 million, with The Expendables being his best number with $34. 825 million. Bullet to the Head probably won’t meet his average earning, but his new vehicle will draw a nice crowd for those who need their Sly fix.

Al Pacino, Christopher Walken and Alan Arkin team up for a buddy crime comedy, Stand Up Guys. The film follows Val (Pacino) who has just been released from prison, as he and his buddy Doc (Walken) try to get the old gang back together for one last hurrah, before one of the guys takes his last assingment — to kill his comrade. It’s really all a great formula for a potentially great action comedy.

But the real winner of the weekend will be Warm Bodies, a new comedy horror that might be considered Twilight with zombies, but I truly hope, nor think, this is the case. This feature feels like it really might reinvent the genre, and do it successfully. This film follows R (Nicholas Hoult), a highly unusual zombie who saves a human, Julie (Teresa Palmer), from an attack. Their growing bond may just change the lifeless world altogether. You’ve seen the whole odd relationship before: an average girl and a boy of the supernatural kind. But this is different. This is set in a post-apocalyptic world where zombies are the norm, and humans are odd. Another interesting concept is this flick is actually suggesting the main girl is hot enough to reanimate a whole lifeless world, and make the zombies real again. Sure, Palmer’s hot, but she’s no Megan Fox. She’ll have to do. This makes the film have an original concept, and from the trailer, the humour looks like the strange, awkward brand of comedy that I love. This flick will also attract fans of the novel, as well as those who are interested in this awesome feature, like myself. This zombie feature looks cool, smart, and original. One thing that could make this film a certified sleeper hit is expert writing and direction from writer/director Jonathan Levine (50/50). I’ll appreciate this as long as there aren’t any love triangles…

Here’s how I see the Top 10:
1. Warm Bodies/$18, 700, 000
2. Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters/ $12, 400, 000
3. Bullet to the Head/ $9, 200, 000
4. Silver Linings Playbook/ $7, 650, 000
5. Mama/ $5, 620, 000
6. Zero Dark Thirty/ $5, 530, 000
7. Parker/ $4, 065, 000
8. Django Unchained/ $2, 920, 000
9. Stand Up Guys/ $2, 000, 000
10. Movie 43/ $1, 970, 000

This entry was posted in Box Office Predictions and Results and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Zombies Will (Probably) Devour Stallone, Elderly in a Crime Comedy, and the Rest of the Competition

  1. Sir Phobos says:

    I’m a little conflicted. I want to see Bullet in the Head, but I want to see Warm Bodies with my wife. Decisions, decisions. I hope Sly does better than $9 million, though.

    • Daniel Prinn says:

      I’m most excited for Warm Bodies. I’m going Sunday, and I might catch Stand Up Guys on Saturday. I’m not sure when I’ll see Bullet to the Head… It seems fun, but I’m not sure if I’ll catch it in theaters. DVD, for sure. Let me know which one you see! I’d like to see that happen, but I’m not sure how likely it will be. I mean, Arnold only grossed a little over $6 for TLS’s opening weekend, and to me, Stallone seems just a bit more popular than Arnie. I hope his [Stallone’s] flick can make a good amount of money before he gets lost in the shadows when A Good Day to Die Hard gets released.

      I hope you enjoy whichever you see! πŸ™‚

  2. Interesting films this weekend, both have massively different demographics. Bullet to the head has adults and action nuts (me), warm bodies have teens and couples (not me). I think you are probably right because the Warm Bodies audience are more likely to go out to the cinema. I will be watching Bullet tomorrow so πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

