Terminator 2: Judgment Day (1991)

Terminator 2

The cyborg who once tried to kill Sarah Connor is dead, and another T-101 must now protect her teenage son, John Connor, from an even more powerful and advanced Terminator, the T-1000.

Release Date: July 3, 1991

Director: James Cameron

Stars: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Edward Furlong, Linda Hamilton

Runtime: 137 min

Robert Patrick is fantastic as the T-1000, and it’s very exciting when he always bounces back. He makes a stupendous villain. Arnie is great and extremely cool as the Terminator, his most iconic character. James Cameron is the best director for these movies. Jonathan Mastow is adequate directing the third, but McG, director of the fourth, might as well just quit the film industry (at least as a director).

I don’t remember The Terminator that well, but this is one of the greatest sequels ever made. This has some outstanding action sequences that simply cannot be beaten. Those scenes at the mall near the beginning are freaking awesome. This is a near-perfect masterpiece, and one of the very best action movies of the 1990s. I think the middle drags a little (at the trailer park, mostly), but that’s hardly a fault of the film. It has to develop plot, and even though it bores me a little, it transitions itself back into the action quickly and with stellar ease.

I love this movie and almost everything about it, except Edward Furlong. He’s endlessly irritating in this movie, his character’s actions are idiotic, and I just wish he wouldn’t ask so many stupid questions. I wish any other actor would have played John Connor. The character is a stupid little shit, as is Furlong. Though, I did like Furlong in American History X; and it seems we were all annoying little shits at the age of fourteen.

98/100

This entry was posted in 1990s, Reviews N - Z and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Terminator 2: Judgment Day (1991)

  1. Sir Phobos says:

    You should go back and watch the first one as well. You’ll come to appreciate Arnold even more.

    Yea, Furlong blew ass in this. It didn’t help that he was given the worst possible things to say. He should have been the one in the mental institution, not his mom. Orderly rape!

    • Daniel Prinn says:

      I’d like to buy the DVD and watch them both in a day. I’m really interested to see the difference between the first with the $6.4M budget, and the second with the $94M budget… I’m really quite fond of Arnold, actually. I might go through his filmography this summer. I have lots of fun watching and not understanding a fair fraction of his dialogue, hahha. But Christoph Waltz is now my favourite Austrian…

      I know right, LOL! Cameron didn’t write a winner with that character. Hahaha, exactly, George! That should be his punishment for irritating the hell out of us for so many years! And remember… It’s not rape… It’s a snuggle struggle…

  2. Sir Phobos says:

    A silent snuggle struggle. Shhhh, it’ll be over soon, you annoying shit head.

    The first Terminator is mainly a chase movie, with Sarah and Kyle Reese running from Arnold whenever he finds where they are. Most of the budget probably went into the practical effects and stop-motion, which are both still awesome. There’s a sweet bust of Arnold that’s used in a scene where he’s cutting part of his own eyeball out, and then there’s stuff at the finale. The rest is good, old fashioned excellent direction.

  3. Nick Powell says:

    So close to perfect, yet so far lol. Those 2 points take it down a bit, eh? Good review though and definitely one of the best sequels ever.

    • Daniel Prinn says:

      Lol they do, I’m trying to be more picky with the movies I give 100s to… And Furlong’s annoying voice was just buzzing through my head…

      Thanks, Nick!

  4. Abbi says:

    Weirdly unlike most I actually preferred the first one. Robert Patrick is outstanding though and I definitely agree that Edward Furlong is absolutely awful.

    • Daniel Prinn says:

      Everyone has their preferences! As long as you don’t prefer the third or, god forbid, the fourth πŸ˜‰

      I’d have to watch the first again to see if I like this or the first better…

  5. Nice review Dan. I absolutely love this film and I agree it’s one of the best sequels ever.

  6. It’s funny I haven’t seen any old school reviews for a while with all the new releases. Love this film, good review Dan πŸ˜€

  7. Great flick. An all time classic. In time, I’ve even come to forgive Edward Furlong’s cracking voice performance that seems to eat at you so much LOL πŸ˜‰

    • Daniel Prinn says:

      Truly it is, Fogs. LOL, I haven’t brought myself to like his performance just yet. Though, I did at least feel the need to mention one of his better performances, where he wasn’t irritating! πŸ˜€

  8. Def one of my personal faves.

Leave a Reply

