Theatrical Releases of June, The Anticipated and the not-so Anticipated

At the beginning of each month, I’ll be telling you all which movies I’m anticipating, and which ones I’m not. The list will go from least anticipated to most anticipated. Here’s the list for June’s thirteen theatrical releases (for this list, I consulted IMDb.com, and these are all of the June releases they had posted on June 2nd). Here we go…

The DVD Rentals or Skip Altogether’s

13. I'm So Excited (6/28)

13. I’m So Excited (6/28)

Plot: When it appears as though the end is in sight, the pilots, flight crew, and passengers of a plane heading to Mexico City look to forget the anguish of the moment and face the greatest danger, which we carry within ourselves. My thoughts: It doesn’t sound very intriguing to me, so I might either just skip it altogether, or wait for the DVD. Suffice to say, I’m really not excited for this. 

12. Hummingbird (6/28)

12. Hummingbird (6/28)

Plot: Homeless and on the run from a military court martial, a damaged ex-special forces soldier navigating London’s criminal underworld seizes an opportunity to assume another man’s identity — transforming into an avenging angel in the process. My thoughts: It’s just a Jason Statham action vehicle, so my only expectation is formulaic action. This sounds like a DVD rental to me.

The ones that make me fairly excited, but I wouldn’t count the days until I see it

11. White House Down (6/28)

11. White House Down (6/28)

Plot: While on a tour of the White House with his young daughter, a Capitol policeman springs into action to save his child and protect the president from a heavily armed group of paramilitary invaders. My thoughts: I like Jamie Foxx and Channing Tatum. I’m not crazy excited about this, mostly because I feel like I’ve already seen this earlier in the year. It does look good, and I just want a fun movie that’s an improvement on Olympus Has Fallen

10. World War Z (6/21)

10. World War Z (6/21)

Plot: United Nations employee Gerry Lane traverses the world in a race against time to stop the Zombie pandemic that is toppling armies and governments, and threatening to destroy humanity itself. My thoughts: This could be good, but I’m not expecting a lot. I haven’t read the book (even thought I’ve heard the only similarity is the title), but I like Brad Pitt. I’m hoping for good action sequences. I do like a good zombie flick, so hopefully this is good.

 

9. Byzantium (6/28)

9. Byzantium (6/28)

Plot: Residents of a coastal town learn, with deathly consequences, the secret shared by the two mysterious women who have sought shelter at a local resort. My thoughts: I like the cast, even though I haven’t seen Saoirse Ronan or Gemma Arterton in any movie yet. I like a good vampire movie. I’m just expecting a good overall tone and some cool vampire mythology. This intrigues me. 

The ones I can’t wait for

The Bling Ring (6/14)

8. The Bling Ring (6/14)

Plot: Inspired by actual events, a group of fame-obsessed teenagers use the internet to track celebrities’ whereabouts in order to rob their homes. My thoughts: I love Emma Watson. She makes me excited for this. I’ve really liked the style of the trailers, so I’m just expecting a stylish movie. And an interesting story. I might check out some of Sofia Coppola’s other movies before I see this… 

The Heat (6/28)

7. The Heat (6/28)

Plot: Uptight FBI special agent Sarah Ashburn is paired with testy Boston cop Shannon Mullins in order to take down a ruthless drug lord. The hitch: neither woman has ever had a partner — or a friend for that matter. My thoughts: I love Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy. This looks really funny, so I’m just expecting a funny movie. I also enjoy buddy comedies, so this could be really good. Maybe it’ll be as funny as The Other Guys.

Much Ado About Nothing (6/7)

6. Much Ado About Nothing (6/7)

Plot: A modern retelling of Shakespeare’s classic comedy about two pairs of lovers with different takes on romance and a way with words. My thoughts: This sounds great. I’m really just expecting good laughs and clever dialogue, which I’ll get since it’s Shakespeare. I like Joss Whedon. Maybe this will be as good as 10 Things I Hate About You?

The ones I really, really can’t wait for

The Internship (6/7)

5. The Internship (6/7)

Plot: Two salesmen whose careers have been torpedoed by the digital age find their way into a coveted internship at Google, where they must compete with a group of young, tech-savvy geniuses for a shot at employment. My thoughts: I love Wedding Crashers. I’m excited for this Wilson/Vaughn comedy vehicle. It looks very funny. Though, I am admittedly more excited to watch the Unrated Version (R-rated version; the PG-13 version is the one going to theatres) that will hopefully come with the Blu-Ray. 

 

4. This is the End (6/12)

4. This is the End (6/12)

Plot: While attending a party at James Franco’s house, Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel and many other celebrities are faced with the apocalypse. My expectations: I love the cast and the idea of it. It looks like a real laugh-riot, certainly best comedy of the year material. I’m expecting non-stop laughter.

3. The Purge

3. The Purge (6/7)

Plot: A family is held hostage for harboring the target of a murderous syndicate during the Purge, a 12-hour period in which any and all crime is legalized. My thoughts: This movie has intrigued me ever since I’ve first heard about it. I love the concept. I’m really just expecting a terrifying story, some good scares, and pure awesomeness. I’m ready to be creeped the hell out. 

2. Man of Steel

2. Man of Steel (6/14)

Plot: A young journalist is forced to confront his secret extraterrestrial heritage when Earth is invaded by members of his race. My thoughts: Frankly, I’m not the biggest fan of the superhero sub-genre, but I do enjoy a lot of the super hero movies. I haven’t seen any Superman movies yet, so this will be my first experience with Superman. I’m really just expecting awesome action and Michael Shannon being an excellent villain. I know what you’re thinking, if this is only my second most-anticipated movie of June 2013; what’s my first? 

1. Monsters University (6/21)

1. Monsters University (6/21)

Plot: A look at the relationship between Mike and Sulley during their days at Monsters University — when they weren’t necessarily the best of friends. My thoughts: Monsters, Inc. is one of my favourite Pixar movies, so of course its prequel is my most anticipated movie of June, and one of my most anticipated movies of the entire summer. I just really hope this is awesome. I love a good animated flick. Can it just be June 21st? 

There you have it, the movies I’m anticipating, and the ones I’m not particularly excited about. Answer my poll, and leave a comment, if you’d like. I want to know YOUR most anticipated movie of June 2013. 

This entry was posted in 2013 films, Anticipated Movies List; Monthly/Yearly Recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Theatrical Releases of June, The Anticipated and the not-so Anticipated

  1. mistylayne says:

    Excited for This is the End, The Purge, Much Ado About Nothing, Monsters University, Byzantium and The Heat. World War Z I will probably see on streaming because I *did* read the book and the trailers make me very cranky, lol. I might see the Bling Ring due to Emma Watson but that’s about the only reason. Haven’t really heard much about the others except Superman and not a fan.

    • Daniel Prinn says:

      Lol, the CGI zombies don’t look so great… I might just see it in 2D… Man of Steel seems awesome, I’m mostly a fan of Michael Shannon. 😀 And the heat rays look pretty cool… I like the cast, mostly. I hadn’t heard anythin’ about Hummingbird or I’m So Excited. Have you heard of You’re Next yet? That one looks flipping awesome

  2. mistylayne says:

    The CGI zombies are lame-o. SO not what the book is about. 😉 Not a Superman fan so whatevs but I’m sure people who are fans will love. Agreed about the cast. Haven’t heard of that, I don’t think. What’s it about?

    • Daniel Prinn says:

      I’d hope so, they deserve a good Superman movie after Superman Returns which I haven’t heard a lot of great things about LOL. It’s this home invasion horror movie where ax-wielding tormentors attack a vacation home kinda deal. It looks terrifying but brilliant. This is its IMDb page: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1853739/?ref_=sr_1

      I’d recommend checking out the trailer because it’s just captivating LOL. The music used is so smart, too…

  3. Oh let me think for a while.

    MAN OF STEEL!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

