Box Office Predictions: October 4-6

“Gravity” looks like a real Oscar contender, from minimalistic filmmaker Alfonso Cuaron, starring Sandra Bullock and George Clooney. Movies similar to this one open at $25.7 million. Since it’s so anticipated, though, and since it has a current 97% fresh on Rotten Tomatoes – many will be checking this out this weekend. My prediction for this is $43.7 million.

I think “Runner Runner” looks good, but the reviews haven’t been overly positive. The writers (Brian Koppelman and David Levien) behind “Rounders” are bringing us this one. Films similar to this open at $14.7 million, and I think that’s a likelier opening for this one. I have a hard time imagining this going as low as $8.45 million, which “Rounders” earned in 1998. It could be a bit disappointing if everybody runs to “Gravity,” instead of this one. My prediction for this is $12.8 million.

“Metallica Through the Never” is a concert film that is expanding to 650 theatres this weekend, after having a $1.58 million debut at 305 theatres last weekend. Since Metallica doesn’t appeal to the masses, I don’t think this one has much more money to add to its run. I’m torn about seeing this one or not. I’m not the biggest fan of Metallica’s music, but I do like a few of their songs. The reason I’d see this is probably for Dane DeHaan and that apocalyptic narrative looks crazy cool. My prediction for this is $3.16 million.

Here’s how I see the Top 10:
1. Gravity: $43.7M
2. Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2: $25M
3. Runner Runner: $12.8M
4. Prisoners: $7.3M
5. Rush: $6.7M
6. Baggage Claim: $6.1M
7. Don Jon: $5.8M
8. Insidious Chapter 2: $4M
9. Metallica Through the Never: $3.16M
10. The Family: $2.2M

This entry was posted in Box Office Predictions and Results. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Box Office Predictions: October 4-6

  1. Gravity: 2D or not 2D? That is the question.

Leave a Reply

