Tenacious D in the Pick of Destiny (2006)

Tenacious DRelease Date: November 22, 2006Director: Liam LynchStars: Jack Black, Kyle Gass, JR ReedRuntime: 93 min.

I believe in building a so-called ‘stupid comedy’ tolerance. But that’s not why I seeked out “Tenacious D in: The Pick of Destiny” after so many years. I remember watching it a lot in my young teens. Revisiting it now, it’s still pretty damn funny.

In Venice Beach, naive Midwesterner JB bonds with slacker KG and they form the rock band Tenacious D. Setting out to become the world’s greatest band is no easy feat, so they set out to steal what could be the answer to their prayers — a magical guitar pick housed in a Rock and Roll museum some 300 miles away.

This film is just as silly as it sounds. If that sounds like your idea of a decent time; seek this one out. If it doesn’t, don’t seek it out – because this immature ride begins with flatulence and throws immature gags and smart and funny songs at the audience at a rapid rate. The characterization is weak because there’s no focus on it – they’re essentially slackers where the actors essentially play versions of themselves. The movie feels improvised at times, but it never takes itself seriously – and you shouldn’t take it seriously, either. There are memorable rock-offs, and this film is probably most enjoyable to those who love Tenacious D and their antics. It’s also suited for Jack Black fans.

It just isn’t suited for those who can’t find it in their hearts to appreciate a little stoner comedy like this. Critics that have to watch this might be amused by a bit-sized role from Tim Robbins. This film is predictable but it leads up to one heck of a rock-off, and songs that, even after years of not watching this, you’ll remember every lyric. And that’s saying something about this film. The music is great, the laughs big, but the story mediocre. But the story isn’t is what is important, because it never leaves you bored, even if it feels familiar. This movie’s just a lot of fun. And that’s what always brings me back to this movie.

Score75/100

6 thoughts on “Tenacious D in the Pick of Destiny (2006)

  1. Epic tunes, and don’t forget the best part of the whole thing when Dio comes to life from the poster! I’m pretty sure that also happened in one of my dreams.

      1. That’s probably my favourite scene. FUUUUCK. The demon code prevents me… From declining a rock-off challenge….

        Classic showdown 😉

  2. I just sold off all my CDs and DVDs last week, only keeping a handful. My DVD and soundtrack for Pick of Destiny are two I had to keep. I’M THE DEVIL I LOVE METAL!

Leave a comment